The right au pair for the right Family
ref. ID
Nuværende land
Civil status
Har kørerkort
Har erfaring med børnepasning
Foretrukne opstart
Foreign language skills
Afrikaans   Advanced
Dutch   Intermediate
English   Proficient
German   Elementary

Au pair Megan in Netherlands
Dear host family
I am so excited to meet you and get to know you.

I am Megan McLeod. I am 19 years old and I come from Windhoek, Namibia. I am currently living in Bussum, Netherlands as an Au pair. I am loving every moment of my journey abroad!

I come from a family of 4 girls with me being the third born. I completed my matric in December 2021 at Combretum trust school in Windhoek. In the near future I would love to further my studies by doing a Bachelor of Science Honours Degree in Midwifery or Bachelor of Emergency Medical Care (paramedics)as I am really passionate about helping others.

In my spare time I swim, hike, gym, read novels, and I usually express my feelings through writing poems, essays and short imaginative stories. I am proficient in English and my home language is Oshiwambo and I understand a bit of Afrikaans and German and Dutch .

My personality will fit in well with taking care of your child for instance when they are required to pay attention, and be serious with a particular task. I have good interpersonal skills. I am hardworking and can handle pressure. I generally like people and love to experience different cultures, I believe if afforded this opportunity it will open up many doors for me, for example grant me the chance to experience cultural exchange programs internationally.

Growing up I lived with my mom only and didn't really have anyone to play with or do kid stuff with and just be myself, so I want to be able to give that or be there for a child (ren) so they don't grow up in the same way as I did. I have always been a huge fan of playing different activities with children like hide and seek, or card games, or teach them the games we play back home in Namibia such as block block and also I love teaching kids how to read and pronounce words by reading some books. I do have plenty experience in taking care of kids, from my younger sibling who is 9 to my aunts kid who I took care of when they were just born and my cousins child who is currently 1 year old. I have taken care of other kids on various occasions during the day, I did plenty of volunteering work at crèches , and did after school babysitting from children ages 0-12.

As an au pair in the Netherlands, I look after 3 boys ages 2,5,7 and I work 8 hours per day. The boys are very active so I am always playing football with them, teaching them new tricks, take /fetch them from school, make them food, teach them my different dance moves and I spend most of my time with the boys. For me family goes beyond the core family members, it is those who help us grow and become better versions of ourselves
I'm good at multitasking, I not only know how to take care of children but I also assist in household duties, like cooking, cleaning. However I believe there is always room for improvement. I am an extrovert and I enjoy making friends and doing things together or taking the children out to parks, out and socializing with friends as I also make friends easily and I settle in very fast.

My love for children has grown so much that I have decided to take up this commitment by working with them, because working with children provides me with the opportunity to engage in a variety of activities throughout the day, and the resp responsibility of being in charge forces me to be ready for anything thrown my way. Spending time with children makes me feel sane.

I am by nature very adventurous and curious, I love travelling, being on the road. My favorite place is by the beach. I've been to Canada, Nigeria, China and Ethiopia and I enjoy getting to discover different places, and learning new cultures and just getting out of my comfort zone helps me grow as a person and get a variety of perspectives about the world.

In conclusion, I would like to thank you very much for taking your time to get to know me better and I hope we can develop a good relationship, working and living together. I am looking forward to hearing from you and beingAu Pair and also a family member in your family and to spend a great and unforgettable year.